Adventures of a Bride-to-Be: Chapter 1

How the least wedding friendly person is preparing for her own wedding

Hello everyone, my name is Teresa and I am getting married on October 12, exactly 80 days from today. Am I nervous? No. Am I terrified? No. And I ready? Absolutely not! Don’t get me wrong, I am very excited to start this next, new chapter of my life, I am just not so excited about being a bride! 

I honestly never thought I was ever going to get married, and then one day my then-boyfriend now-fiancee decided to go down on one knee and ask me to marry him. Of course I said yes, and of course I was happy about it. But there is one thing that nobody warns you about: as soon as you get married, people already jump on a planning mode and ask many questions about the wedding. 

You can’t blame them when you are the first one getting married between your friends, or if they are really close to you. 

I just have never been too happy to go to weddings, and I think that, in my entire life, I have only been to a couple of them. I like receptions, I like the idea of sitting down with people I love and have a very nice meal, and then have a tasty piece of cake. I also love the idea of a fancy night out: doing my make up and my hair, picking up a very nice dress, and shoes, and just not wearing my every day clothes. 

Now it is my turn to wear a fluffy gigantic dress, to walk down the aisle with my dad, and declare my love in front of approximately 83 people. I want to point out that most of the people invited are my fiancee guests. I only invited close friends and family. We wanted to keep the guest list short, but he comes from a big family and so choosing who to invite was like playing Operation: we had to make sure that nobody would be offended if they were not invited just because XX was invited. Not an easy mission.

The very first planning thing we did, which we didn’t mind at all, was our ideal guest list. Of course the guest list is never final, and you will always end up inviting more people, but it is nice to get a somewhat of structure to your Big Day and have an idea of who you are going to see there. 

After that, we booked the venue and the DJ, mainly because everybody was pressuring us to find a venue so that we could secure a date. In addition, the venue we found takes care of decoration, set up, and food, so it made our lives easier because we did not have to look for many different vendors. 

After securing the date, we stopped planning because we did not feel any urgency to do so, nor was one of our priorities. We decided we would go back into planning mode once I graduated college. And we sort of did.This is what we have done so far:

  • Venue and ceremony are booked
  • We have a DJ
  • We have an officiant
  • We sent out the invitations (picture above)
  • We have a wedding photographer
  • We have a wedding website that is 90 percent complete
  • We have a registry
  • I picked my maid of honor, but he still doesn’t have a best man
  • I gave my made of honor full decision power on her dress

As you can see, we still have a lot to do. I still have to pick my wedding dress, I still have no idea what he is going to wear, and I honestly can’t even think about what I am missing. 

To conclude, I am fully aware I might sound like a whiny baby, but follow my journey. There are many things I am excited about, and I can’t wait to share them with you!

Picture taken by Rachelle Dana, our wedding photographer

Leave a comment